Following an election held last week Wednesday, a five-member executive has taken charge of the University of The Gambia Faculty and Staff Association (UTGFSA).

The new executive members are: Dr. Alieu Gibba, President; Dr. Ensa Touray, Vice President; Mr. Yorro, Secretary-General; Mr. Ebrima Bojang,Njie Financial Controller and Mr. Alhagie Ceesay as  Auditor.

Speaking at the official handing ceremony, held at the union’s office at the Kanifing Campus, President-elect Dr. Gibba expressed gratitude to the outgoing executive for steering the affairs of the union with utmost sincerity and commitment. 

“We will continue to work on improving the welfare of the staff of the University in all aspects”, he said, while reminding his team of the daunting tasks that lay ahead.

Madam Jagne-Kantara, a member of the outgoing executive said the new team “must work together closely for the best interest of the union”. She gave a brief synopsis of some of the past activities of the union.