University Administration

Vice Chancellor
Professor Dr. Faqir Muhammad ANJUM​​

DVC - Academics
Prof. Pierre Gomez

DVC - Administration
Prof. Momodou Jain

University Registrar
Dr. Momodou Lamin Tarro

University Librarian
Dr. Doreem Yemisi Olorumfemi

Director of Finance
Mr. Ousainou Corr

Director of Admission
Dr. Aminata Njie

Director of Human Resources
Mrs. Amy Aidara

Senior Procurement Officer
Mr. Saikou Jeng

Head of Internal Audit
Mr. Lamin Fatty

Director of University Relations
Mr. Mbakeh Camara

Director of Facilities & Auxiliary Services
Mr. Aliue Darboe

Chief Accountant
Mr. Ebrima K Bojang

Director of Distance Learning
Dr. Sylvie Coly

Ag. Director of Sports and Recreation
Prof. Momodou Mustapha Fanneh


The University of The Gambia was established by an Act of the National Assembly of the Gambia in March 1999.  The enactment, which was a bold step to fulfill a long-standing desire of the people of The Gambia and to respond to several years of advocacy both within and outside the country for a university, ended years of indecision on the university question.


Prof. Donald E.U. Ekong
1999 - 2004

Prof. Andreas Ludvig Steigen
2005 - 2008

Prof.Muhammadou M.O. Kah
2009 - 2015

The University of The Gambia will seek to attain its Vision and Mission by:

  1. Promoting equitable and sustainable socio-economic development of communities through relevant,
    high-quality gender-sensitive teaching, research and outreach programmes
  2. Providing higher education to all persons, suitably qualified and capable of benefiting from it.
  3. Positioning itself as a national asset committed to the promotion of life-long learning.
  4. Developing its information and communication technologies, infrastructure as a driving force for the 
    education of more people more rapidly and for the improvement of efficiency and academic quality to 
    attain the goals of poverty alleviation and national development